In Which I Struggle with HTML and Coding

16 Sep

I always thought that I was at least moderately tech savvy. That is, until I started blogging. Still too busy to actually go out and do something food-related, last night I decided to venture into the more technical aspects of the blog with little success. For class, I’m required to set up Google AdSense and market the blog on Twitter and Facebook. I have enough common sense to set up a Twitter account (given that I had one pre-blog), and setting up a Facebook page requires little to no effort. Adding on all these little extras, however, is a baffling process to me. Google AdSense, a free program that gives you revenue from clicks to ads that it puts onto your site, provides the code to put it into your blog after you sign up, but fails to tell you how or, better yet, where to insert it. One would think that a quick Google search would clear this up, but what information I found makes no sense either. Apparently there isn’t a Google AdSense For Dummies guide. [UPDATE: Oh wait, there is. Anyone have $18.24 to put towards teaching me how to utilize internet advertising? Or…well…according to Aminul over here, I can’t use AdSense unless I host the blog myself, and that requires money that I just don’t have. Looks like this won’t be a potential moneymaker after all. I wonder why I was even allowed to make an account in the first place. I feel very stupid…]

Facebook is no less confusing. One of the must haves for one’s Facebook page is the “like” button, which I imagine that you’re familiar with. Again, after setting up my “like” button, I was given the code but no further instructions. I’m sure all of this really isn’t that difficult, but I currently feel like my mother’s 80-year-old parents who don’t even know how to turn on a computer. If you know the solution to these really simple problems, email me or reach out to me on Facebook or something. I don’t know why I can’t get a grip on this. I am dissapoint.

Yet another battle that I’m waging against the blog (the man? Big Brother? Whatever…) is how to structure these food posts in a manner that looks nice on paper and online. I’m a big fan of breaking up a post with pictures, as everyone who has ever done a food blog is (who the hell wouldn’t put pics into their posts? Ack!), and including the price is required, especially with a blog of this nature. I would like to insert some kind of little “thing,” for lack of better wording, at the end of each post, but I’m not sure what to do.

As a current intern at Serious Eats, I can’t help but like the simple name/address/phone and website block that posts such as this one about Chinatown Brasserie utilize, but I kind of want something fancier. The the + and – chart that Midtown Lunch has at the end of their posts is also of interest, and I’m inclined to think up something similar of my own, but I’m not entirely sure what. I also dig this really fancy-shmancy Google Maps bar that Wandering Foodie uses, but given that I can’t even properly set up Google AdSense I don’t even want to begin to think about how to make something like that. Not the best idea for a book page either, though it’d be great for mobile usage. Suggestions? Concerns? Voice ’em. Meanwhile, I’ll try to think of something worth using.

Expect an actual post about food sometime this weekend. One borough that I haven’t really set foot in as of yet is The Bronx (Da Bronx?), so I’m going to see if I can find something interesting to blog about there. That shouldn’t be too difficult. Until next time.

6 Responses to “In Which I Struggle with HTML and Coding”

  1. Sajib September 16, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    Are you talking about Google Adsense on ‘this’ blog?

    • versayce September 16, 2010 at 3:25 am #

      Indeed! I guess I should have specified that.

      • Sajib September 16, 2010 at 3:36 am #

        I wonder how come you don’t even know that Adsense is not supported on this wordpress.com blog. You need to have a self-hosted wordpress blog (like my http://www.aisajib.com ) to be able to use adsense or any kind of advertising/sponsored contents.

      • versayce September 16, 2010 at 10:41 am #

        Oh, I see. I didn’t know that. A friend has a WordPress blog that I believed wasn’t self-hosted, and she utilized it. I was mistaken. Well, thanks for letting me know.

  2. Sajib September 16, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    I’m sorry to have disappointed you. 😦 You might consider buying a hosting and domain and host your blog.

    • Peter Yeh October 6, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

      time to learn PHP and XHTML 1.0 Strict.

      AND YOU BETTER BE STANDARDS COMPLIANT OR I WILL FIND YOU

Leave a Reply

