Proposal Finalized — Business Plan It Is

29 Sep

First off, I apologize for the lateness of this post. Calling this week ‘hell week’ would be an appropriate and then some. On a more positive note, I’ve finally made up my mind as to what to do with this site and my class this semester. The results, after the jump (as if the title doesn’t give it away)…

Business plan it is. I ended up deciding that the book proposal, while fun to plan, probably wouldn’t be a realistic approach to what I want to do. Instead, I’ve been thinking about how I would want to transform my idea past the simple concept of blog and into something greater. I’d like to build and archive a database of sorts of different restaurants, and have them be searchable and, of course, separated by cuisine, borough, and other such categories. You can already do this, to a degree, on Yelp with their $ filters, but you still have to sift through a lot to find what you’re looking for. There’s also those pesky listings that no one has reviewed yet that clog up the page. I’m more attracted to the layout of Always Hungry NY, a site that follows a similar concept to what I’d like to accomplish, but on a broader scope. You can filter by neighborhood, borough, and cuisine, and each page has the listings information of Yelp combined with a blog post of sorts a la what I post on here. It streamlines everything so it’s searchable, easy to find, and easy to use however you’d like to. I think it’s a good start.

What do you think? Comments? Anger? Agreement? Apathetic about the whole thing? Tell me.

Leave a Reply

