Advice from the Twitterverse

27 Oct

A conversation about the wonders of Shake Shack led me to talking about blog stuffs with @lgesin, a teacher from my area of Jersey who does an ecommerce class for seniors. They’re actually doing the same thing that I’m doing in my class as a soon-to-be senior in college, which was certainly a surprise. I wish my high school offered classes about ecommerce. But I digress.

Of course, being the pesky college student that I am, I asked her to give me some pointers. The first thing she said was that I needed to unlock my Twitter account, referring to the fact that I keep my personal Twitter private. Now, the Twitter account for this blog is public, and I never really thought to unlock my other account (mostly because no one really reads it), but perhaps this is the next logical step. This week saw a slight drop in traffic, not to the point in which I’m freaked out, but still enough for me to notice. I’ve attempted to utilize all of the free methods in which I can spread my posts to as large of an audience as possible, but perhaps it’s not enough. Where to go next is most definitely the question. Unfortunately, I don’t know the answer. Is the key to getting yourself out there to really, truly shove every aspect of yourself on every single network out into the public eye? This sounds like a really stupid question, but I figure it deserves to be asked.

Tune in tomorrow for a Q&A with Erica of the consistently sarcastic (and hilarious) blog Fucked in Park Slope.

Leave a comment